Role models.

The other night while writing my final literature review for one of my classes, I watched Diane Sawyer’s interview with Rep. Gabby Giffords and her husband Mark Kelly. Seeing how far she’s come from an injury that should have killed her is remarkable. Her bravery, courage ad strength definitely inspired me, as I’m sure it does people on both sides of the aisle.

The interview got me to thinking about my role models and the influence they’ve had on my life.

1. Coco Chanel – Not only did was she an innovator for women’s fashion starting in the 1920s, but she build her business from the ground up on her own. In a time when women married at a young age to be supported by men their whole lives, Chanel built her own life. She was fiercely independent which is a quality I admire.

2. Gabby Giffords – she showed what bravery really is by not only surviving but by pushing herself each day to get better. Her story is inspiring. It makes me feel as though I should never complain about anything, because it could be so, so much worse.

3. Audrey Hepburn – Audrey proved that a woman can have major class and still be successful. Whenever I see women accepting less than they deserve or acting without class, I think of her and am reminded that having class is always the way to go.

4. Queen Elizabeth I“Anne Boleyn thought only with her heart and she got her head chopped off. So her daughter, Elizabeth, made a vow to never marry a man. She married a country. Forget boys. Keep your eye on the prize. You can’t make people love you, but you can make them fear you.” – Blair Waldorf

Elizabeth was never able to fully be with the great love of her life, but she moved on and dedicated her life to her kingdom. I really admire her dedication, determination (no allowing the throne taken from her) and strength.

5. Hilary Clinton & Condaleeza Rice – Say what you want, but politics is a male-dominated field and a lot of the time women who participate are ripped to shreds by fellow politicians and news media. These two have been able to assert their capability to serve. As a female who hopes to go into politics, I can’t help but look up to them.

I think it’s obvious after reading this that I’m drawn to strong females. It’s important to me that I know who I am and am comfortable enough in my passions and beliefs so that I can hopefully one day fall into the ranks with these women. Until then, they inspire me to be myself, be independent, have my own thoughts, know what I stand for and me powerful.

Leave a Reply

