{a very late} Weekend in photos

I know, I know..it’s Thursday. I’ve been moving slowly this week – for some reason I have been absolutely exhausted all week and have let this blog get away from me.

Anyway, last weekend, my “in-laws” came to stay at my parents house and we had a GREAT time. They’re from Ohio, and we took them on a mini-‘tour’ of West Virginia on a very rainy Saturday.

I’ve had a bucket list of things I want to do in West Virginia for years, and now that I’m finally living in the state full-time, I can finally begin to check things off. I was so excited to do three of them in one day: Hawk’s Nest State Park, The Mystery Hole and the New River Gorge Bridge:

Our first stop was the infamous "Mystery Hole" near Hawk's Nest State Park.

Our first stop was the infamous “Mystery Hole” near Hawk’s Nest State Park.

We didn't let the rain get the best of us!

We didn’t let the rain get the best of us!

We survived the mystery hole! I definitely recommend you go if you're in the area. It's ONLY $6!

We survived the mystery hole! I definitely recommend you go if you’re in the area. It’s ONLY $6!

It’s easy for us West Virginians to take advantage of the beautiful assets our state has to offer, so I’m glad we were able to share some of our state’s most beautiful with our out-of-town guests.

Next we stopped at the overlook at Hawk's nest!

Next we stopped at the overlook at Hawk’s nest!

Being silly and "Titanic"-ing at Hawk's Nest

Being silly and “Titanic”-ing at Hawk’s Nest. Seth’s face says it all – he thinks I”m crazy.

Our final stop was the New River Gorge bridge.

Our final stop was the New River Gorge bridge.

We had an AMAZING dinner at Smokey's on the Gorge. I definitely suggest you eat there if you're in the area.

We had an AMAZING dinner at Smokey’s on the Gorge. I definitely suggest you eat there if you’re in the area.

An easy drive up Route 60, we had a great time exploring the New River Gorge Bridge area is a GREAT way to spend a fall afternoon in WV. The colors are just starting to change and it's beautiful!

An easy drive up Route 60, we had a great time exploring the New River Gorge Bridge area is a GREAT way to spend a fall afternoon in WV. The colors are just starting to change and it’s beautiful!

My absolute favorite picture of us ever.

My absolute favorite picture of us ever.

IMG_0056

We had a fantastic time visiting these iconic WV spots. A few of the next places on my list are Hillbilly Hotdogs, rafting the New River and attending Bridge Day! What’s on your West Virginia bucket list?

 

Leave a Reply

