Oscars 2015: Best and Worst

So the Oscar’s happened last night. I think we can all say.. NPH for the win. That opening number was just perfection. I can confidently say that was one of the best Oscar’s I think I’ve seen. But let’s get to what we’re here to discuss, the fashion. I have to say, I think there were more ‘eh’ and absolutely NO’s than YAAS’ last night. Alas, here are my bests and worst, starting with best:

Lupita Nyong’o in Calvin Klein Collection. Pearl perfection. There were 6,000 pearls on this dress, all hand-sewn. Lupita hadn’t been having the epic year in fashion she had last season, but this dress was pretty amazing.I could have done without the piece connecting in the front, but otherwise, stunning:

Rosamund Pike in Givenchy. Wow. The rosettes, the red, the sheer panels – perfection. Matching the shoe to the dress can go trashy, but it works here and really looks like a complete, head-to-toe look. And the scallops at the top of the dress.. wow.

Reese Witherspoon in Tom Ford. I have to say, this isn’t my favorite look of Reese’s, but as I’ve mentioned before, Reese can truly do no wrong. She always wins the award for tailoring, because her gowns always fit her like a glove. She’s one of the greatest role models out there (as a person and by how she puts herself together), if you ask me:

Common in Prada. I don’t usually have men on my best or worst dressed lists because honestly, they don’t usually stand out that much to me. But I love this navy and black combo, and I really love the velvet:

Emma Stone in Elie Saab. Like with Reese, this isn’t my favorite look ever of Emma’s, but wow. Anyone who can pull off this color gets an award in my book. The beading is just beautiful, and I love the matching shoe, twice in one night:

Lady Gaga in Azzedine Alaïa (which took two months to make). Sorry, Sam, I love it. As I said it’s the perfect ‘Gaga goes to the Oscar’s’ look. Could have done without the cooking gloves, but I like it. I mean, let’s not forget, she IS Gaga.

And now for the worst:

Jessica Chastain in Givenchy. What even is happening here?  The navy is a good color for her, but I don’t love the double shoulder straps. It looks like she couldn’t decide which dress to wear, so she layered her top two choices. This dress actually could have been a winner if they just combines the two sets of straps. It looks like a cap sleeve, which is universally unflattering. Also, you can’t see here, but her shoes are navy platform hooker shoes. It’s just bad.

Felicity Jones in Alexander McQueen. I’m so sad about this, because Felicity has been the Lupita Nyang’o of this awards season up through this. It looks like the top of one dress and the bottom of another. Just, no. Ick:

Keira Knightly in Chanel. Words. On a dress. What? This look looks like she just left her baby shower and decided to walk the red carpet. It’s so bad:

Scarlett Johansen in Versace. She shaved her head, looked extremely unhappy with her choice, wore an ugly dress and a bad statement necklace.

 

Nicole Kidman in Louis Vuitton. The best comparison I saw, was this dress = the Cadbury Bunny. Seriously, who paired this red belt with a yellow-ish dress? My guess is whoever made this dress didn’t realize it would photograph this poorly. It’s SO SO BAD:

Leave a Reply

