Recipe of the Week: Protein Pancakes

If you know me at all, you know I love to hate carbs. (For the record here, I am NOT saying carbs are the enemy.) I’m just always looking for ways to still enjoy my favorite foods, but with a healthier twist.

Case in point: pancakes and/or waffles. I set out to find a healthier version and wanted to share my recipe here.

  1. Start by gathering your ingredients. I used:
    • 1 scoop Vanilla whey protein
    • 1/2 cup Steel Cut Oats
    • 1 tbsp. Almond Milk (Can use coconut milk or whatever your favorite type of milk is!)
    • 1/4 c. Nonfat greek yogurt
    • 1 tsp. Baking powder
    • 1 Egg white
    • Bonus/non pictured: pinch of cinnamon

DSC_0139

2. Add the oats to your ninja (or other blender) so it becomes fine (like flour – though it won’t be quite that fine). Also turn on your griddle so it can get hot as you mix and add some Pam so your pancakes don’t become a stuck-on mess.

DSC_0140

3. Mix all dry ingredients (oats, baking powder, protein powder + cinnamon) together in a mixing bowl.

DSC_0141

4. Add in wet ingredients (egg, greek yogurt, milk).

DSC_0144

5. Once griddle is hot enough. Spoon out your batter onto the pre-heated griddle. Flip once cooked on the bottom side.

DSC_0147

6. Enjoy!

image

 

Note: this recipe made two large cakes and is approximately 256 calories.

3 responses to “Recipe of the Week: Protein Pancakes

  1. Thanks for sharing! I feel like every other protein pancake recipe includes bananas, which I’m not a fan of. So, I’m excited to try this one!

  2. I made a waffle using this and it turned out great!

    Couple changes I made:
    -Replaced the greek yogurt with a 1/4 c. unsweetened cashew milk to cut down on the sugar.
    -Added some PB2 to thicken the batter, since it was a little thinner without the yogurt. (1-2 tbsp)
    -Added a bit on vanilla extract to enhance the flavor.

Leave a Reply

