Recipe of the Week: Easy Black Beans

[Alternate post title: Healthy eating: It doesn’t have to suck] Seriously, though. My hubs and I started slow carbing on Monday (yes, yesterday) and we tried this recipe last night for dinner, and I loved it so much I had to share.

Let’s back up for  a second, though. What is slow carbing? This article describes it pretty well, but it’s basically avoiding your basic carbs (breads, pasta, etc), dairy and fruit/sugar for 6 days per week. On day 7 – you can eat whatever the f*ck you want. So what can I eat, you ask? Think protein, lots of veggies and in place of traditional “carbs”, you can eat as many legumes as you so desire. I’ll do a more detailed post on this coming up, and what I’m eating but I had to jump on and share this recipe with ya’ll.

SO, bringing it back to the most delicious black beans there ever were (ok, maybe an exaggeration)….

Image via OurBestBites.com

I should preface by saying I am NOT a huge bean eater. I like black beans, but they’ve never been something I crave or desire to eat frequently. So when Seth found this recipe last night and suggested we make it (when slow carbing, you can eat lots of beans to replace “white” carbs – that’s simplifying it but you get the idea) I was pretty ‘meh’ about it.

Fast forward to me actually trying them and they’re delicious. I think it’s the coriander + lime. So here’s what you’ll need:
2 Cans Black Beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 T olive oil
2/3 C diced onion
2-3 garlic cloves, pressed or finely minced
2/3 C chicken broth (or water, I use broth for extra flavor)
1/4 t cumin
1/4 t coriander
1/4 t oregano
1/2 t salt
1/4 t pepper
1 lime (we subbed lime juice because we didn’t have limes!)

Instructions:

  • In a saucepan on the stove, heat the olive oil to med-high heat.
  • Saute onions for about 3 minutes or until they just start to become translucent.
  • Add garlic and saute abut 30 seconds more.
  • Add beans, broth, and remaining seasonings and bring to a boil.
  • Reduce heat to a low simmer and simmer for about 7 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • When they are done cooking, remove from heat and add in a few squeezes of lime juice.
  • Then use your spatula to squish some of the beans. You don’t want to pulverize them, but you want to take a bunch of good squishes so that some of the beans are smashed, which will thicken it up.The more you.

Ok now you HAVE to go  try these beans – even if you’re not slow carbing – they would certainly be a great addition to tacos or any mexican feast.

Happy eating!

Annie Signoff

 

 

One response to “Recipe of the Week: Easy Black Beans

  1. Pingback: Thread Cincinnati » Recipe of the Week: Easy Black Beans

Leave a comment